The Lakhimpur District is situated on the North-East corner of Assam, bounded on the North by Lower Subansiri and Papumpare Districts of Arunachal Pradesh. On the East by Dhemaji District and Subansiri river. Majuli Sub-division of Jorhat District and the mighty Brahmaputra stand on the Southern side and Gohpur Subdivision of Sonitpur District is on the Western side of this district. District of Lakhimpur has the distinction of one of the few districts of Assam, where Administration of Justice was initiated by the British Empire since 1838-1839.

At that time, there was no local learned counsel to conduct cases, and the British Rulers had picked up some persons, who knew English and appointed them as defense counsels. Gradually, the said persons practiced in Civil Cases also. In North Lakhimpur, Lt. Muktinath Chakraborty was appointed as defense counsel in the year 1897. Later on, in the year 1899, Lt. Aswini Sarkar and in the year 1901, Lt. Kesalal Sarkar who was Muktiuars, settled here for practice in law. Lt. Phanidhar Chaliha was the first Munsiff at North Lakhimpur in the year 1898. So, Munsiff Court was the establishment by the British Rulers here way back in the year 1898 or prior to that.

Lakhimpur District CourtPrior to 2 October 1971, the present Lakhimpur district was the sub-division of the then Lakhimpur district i.e.present Lakhimpur, Dhemaji, and Dibrugarh and Tinsukia districts with headquarter at Dibrugarh and the Sessions Cases were tried at Dibrugarh and sometimes circuit court was held in the circuit house of Lakhimpur. Prior to that, the British Rulers had made the then Lakhimpur district i.e. present Lakhimpur, Dibrugarh, Dhemaji, Tinsukia district, and then Sibsagar district i.e. present Sivasagar, Jorhat, and Golaghat districts as upper Assam division and Sessions Cases were tried at Jorhat. On 2 October 1971, the District of Lakhimpur was re-organized with two Subdivisions, namely Dhemaji and North Lakhimpur being the headquarter. Again in the year 1980, it was re-organized with two sub-divisions, namely North Lakhimpur and Dhakuakhana leaving Dhemaji as a separate district. After the separation of the judiciary and the Executive, a separate judiciary was functioning. Lt.K.C.chowdhury was the first ADM (judicial) of the Lakhimpur district from 1 November 1972. After him, Sri Abdul Mazid was the Chief Judicial Magistrate, Lakhimpur in the year 1974. Court of the District & Sessions Judge was created in the year 1977 and the then-District & Sessions Judge at Dibrugarh, Sri Nagen Hazarika had taken over charge as District & Sessions Judge of Lakhimpur also, and later on, Lt. Purna Saikia joined here as the District & Sessions Judge on 4 April 1977.

From the inception of the Munsiff Court here at North Lakhimpur in the year,1898, the court of Munsiff was housed in a building built by the British Empire. Thereafter the Court of SDJM was created After the up-gradation of the Lakhimpur sub-division as a district, courts of Chief Judicial Magistrate and thereafter court of District & Sessions Judge and other Courts were gradually established here.

There is 11 number of sanctioned Judicial Courts in this district.

  1. District & Sessions Judge,
  2. Additional District & Sessions Judge(FTC),
  3. Civil Judge & Assistant Sessions Judge,
  4. Chief Judicial Magistrate,
  5. Additional Chief Judicial Magistrate,
  6. Sub Divisional Judicial Magistrate(Sadar),
  7. Sub Divisional Judicial Magistrate(Muffasil), Dhakuakhana,
  8. Munsiff No.1 cum-Judicial Magistrate,1st Class,
  9. Munsiff No.2 cum-Judicial Magistrate,
  10. Judicial Magistrate,1st Class,
  11. Munsiff cum Judicial Magistrate, Dhakuakhana.

Lakhimpur Court Recruitment 2021 – Latest and Upcoming Notification

Lakhimpur Court Recruitment 2021 Free Job alert for both Fresher and Experienced Candidates updated on 27 October 2021. Get Direct Official Link for applying Lakhimpur Court Recruitment 2021 along with current Lakhimpur Court Recruitment official Notification 2021 here. Find all recent  Lakhimpur Court Vacancies 2021 across India and check all latest Lakhimpur Court 2021 job openings instantly here, Know upcoming Lakhimpur Court Recruitment 2021 immediately here.

Lakhimpur Court Recruitment 2021

When it comes to the selection process, the candidates have to take up a written exam / Interview. Selected candidates will be paid a handsome salary (as per Govt rules). The type of questions that are asked in the technical interview round differs from one position to another. There are multiple steps for the selection process for the posts of Stenographer, Clerk, Peon, Process Server, Gardner, Chowkidar, Liftman, Sweeper, Watchman, Cook, etc. in the Lakhimpur Court. The procedure is as follows

  1. Written Test
  2. Computer Based Test
  3. Skilled Test/Typing Test
  4. Interview/Viva Voce (Without written exam)

Postal Addresses:

  • Office of the District and Sessions Judge, Lakhimpur
    District Judicial Court Complex,
    District: Lakhimpur,
    P.O: North Lakhimpur, Assam
    Pin – 787001
  • Office of the Chief Judicial Magistrate,
    District Judicial Court Complex,
    District: Lakhimpur,
    P.O: North Lakhimpur, Assam
    Pin – 787001
  • Office of the Sub Divisional Judicial Magistrate(M), Dhakuakhana,
    Diststrict – Lakhimpur
    Bagicha Gaon
    PO – Joysagar
    Pin – 787055

Contact Number:

  • +913752-222337  – Office of the District and Sessions Judge,

  • +913752-222183  – Office of the Chief Judicial Magistrate,

  • +913752-254501 – Office of the Sub Divisional Judicial Magistrate(M), Dhakuakhana

FAX Number:

  • +91752-222337 – Office of the District and Sessions Judge, Lakhimpur, Assam
  • +913752-222183 – Office of the Chief Judicial Magistrate, Lakhimpur, Assam

Email ID:

We advise to you for Lakhimpur Court Recruitment 2021, How to Apply, Selection Process, Age Limits and other details please read given official recruitment notification carefully before apply online or Offline.

Latest Recruitment Notice 2021
Apply Online Link
Assam Courts Recruitment 2021
Other Court Recruitment 2021